Music

Music at Dordt

Be challenged. Be changed.

 

Do you love to sing or play an instrument? Study music at Dordt, and you'll be able to focus on church music, music management, performance, or pair it with an education major.

In addition to taking private music lessons and participating in ensembles, you will learn about music theory, ear training, music history and literature, conducting, music and digital technology, and more.

Learn how to advance your music skills and make a joyful noise, praising God for the gift of music.

 

Program Options

EMPHASES
  • Church Music: With an emphasis in church music, you will learn about the role of music in worship, how to plan music for worship, transposition and arranging for ensembles, and teaching techniques and methods for vocal music.
  • General: Take a range of classes to get a broad foundation in music.
  • Music Management: In addition to your foundational music classes, you’ll also learn about management theory and practice, principles of marketing, communication, and more.
  • Performance and Pedagogy: In this emphasis, you will take foundational music courses in addition to classes focusing on music literature and music in worship. You will also focus on your specific instrument by taking six semesters of private lessons, presenting in recitals junior and senior year. This emphasis involves an audition by the end of sophomore year.
Other opportunities in music

Besides majoring in music, there are several other tracks you can take. You can minor in music or music performance.

At Dordt, you do not have to be a music major or minor to take lessons or classes.  Approximately 20 percent of our students participate in music in some way or another.

You can also pair it with an education major, having music as a specialization. This combination will prepare you for a career as a music teacher.

For more information on music education, head over to the education major:

Education

Ensembles

Dordt has a variety of music ensembles:

We are also the home to the Northwest Iowa Symphony Orchestra (NISO), which provides advanced students with valuable ensemble experience with their pre-professional training. Many of Dordt's adjunct faculty perform as principal players in the orchestra.

Students can also create their own small group or band. Many students also share their music skills with local churches, assisting with leading worship.

Resources

  • The B.J. Haan Auditorium is a 1,500-seat facility for concerts and solo performances that has some of the best acoustics in the region. It features a 57-rank, three manual, mechanical action Casavant pipe organ, a Steinway Model D concert grand piano, and a Kawai concert grand piano.
  • The music department wing includes mechanical action and electro-pneumatic pipe organs, upright and grand piano practice rooms, and instrumental practice rooms. Dordt also has a Yamaha Disklavier and a two-manual Dekker harpsichord.
  • A state-of-the-art digital music studio for composition, arranging, or editing of digital sound is one of the most recent additions available to musicians at Dordt.

Learn More

Check out our program strengths and get to know our facilities.

Dr. Carrie Groenewold

Dr. Carrie Groenewold
Associate Professor of Music

MB 26
(712) 722-6776
Carrie.Groenewold@dordt.edu

Dr. John MacInnis

Dr. John MacInnis
Associate Professor of Music
Department Chair

MB 28
(712) 722-6202
John.MacInnis@dordt.edu

Dr. Onsby Rose

Dr. Onsby Rose
Associate Professor of Music

MB 111
(712) 722-6204
Onsby.Rose@dordt.edu

Ryan Smit

Ryan Smit
Instructor of Music

MB 113
(712) 722-6203
rmsmit@dordt.edu

Dr. Daniel Baldwin

Dr. Daniel Baldwin
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Daniel.Baldwin@dordt.edu

Andrea Carlson

Andrea Carlson
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Andrea.Carlson@dordt.edu

John Casey

John Casey
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
John.Casey@dordt.edu

Marian Casey

Marian Casey
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Marian.Casey@dordt.edu

Pam De Haan

Pam De Haan
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 30
(712) 722-6206
Pam.DeHaan@dordt.edu

Ariel Detwiler

Ariel Detwiler
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Ariel.Detwiler@dordt.edu

Jennifer Frens

Jennifer Frens
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Jennifer.Frens@dordt.edu

Dr. Beverly Gibson

Dr. Beverly Gibson
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Beverly.Gibson@dordt.edu

Stephanie Kocher

Stephanie Kocher
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Stephanie.Kocher@dordt.edu

Kevin Linder

Kevin Linder
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Kevin.Linder@dordt.edu

Lisa Miedema

Lisa Miedema
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
Lisa.Miedema@dordt.edu

Susan Miranda

Susan Miranda
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Susan.Miranda@dordt.edu

Daniel Sailer

Daniel Sailer
Assistant Adjunct - Music Department

Daniel.Sailer@dordt.edu

Deb Vogel

Deb Vogel
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 25
(712) 722-6205
Deb.Vogel@dordt.edu

Anna Vorhes

Anna Vorhes
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
Anna.Vorhes@dordt.edu

MaryLou Wielenga

MaryLou Wielenga
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 27
(712) 722-6213
MaryLou.Wielenga@dordt.edu

Anna Bartlett

Anna Bartlett
Music Department Administrative Assistant

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
Anna.Bartlett@dordt.edu