Music

Do you love to sing or play an instrument? Study music at Dordt, and you'll be able to focus on music education, performance, church music, or music management.

In addition to taking private music lessons and participating in ensembles, you will learn about music theory, ear training, music history and literature, conducting, music and digital technology, and more.

Learn how to advance your music skills and make a joyful noise, praising God for the gift of music.

 

 

Program Options

  • Music performance and pedagogy major: prepares you for a vocation in performance, studio teaching, and graduate school.
  • Music management major: combines music and business courses to prepare you for a career as an administrator of professional music organizations.
  • General music major: provides a range of courses and experiences that will prepare you for graduate school. It is suggested that students interested in a career in music therapy select the general music major and minor in psychology.
  • Church music major: prepares you for leadership in churches and for service as organist, pianist, or director of choral or instrumental ensembles.
  • Music education major: prepares you for teaching with emphases ranging from elementary through high school.
  • General music minor: provides a fine complement to majors in other fields.
  • Music education minor: prepares elementary school teachers to teach music in the classroom or to be specialists in music.
  • Music performance minor: prepares outstanding non-majors for performing after college.

Opportunities

Music majors and non-majors participate in a variety of small ensemble, community, and church performances in addition to those ensembles provided by Dordt. Many Dordt students provide area school children with private lessons, and several churches rely on the professional services of Dordt College organ students and choir directors.

The Northwest Iowa Symphony Orchestra (NISO) provides advanced students with a valuable ensemble experience with their pre-professional training. Many of Dordt's adjunct faculty perform as principal players in the orchestra.

Dordt's music ensembles include:

You can also create your own small group or band.

Resources

  • The B.J. Haan Auditorium is a 1,500-seat facility for concerts and solo performances that has some of the best acoustics in the region. It features a 57-rank, three manual, mechanical action Casavant pipe organ, a Steinway Model D concert grand piano, and a Kawai concert grand piano.
  • The music department wing includes mechanical action and electro-pneumatic pipe organs, upright and grand piano practice rooms, and instrumental practice rooms. Dordt also has a Yamaha Disklavier and a two-manual Dekker harpsichord.
  • A state-of-the-art digital music studio for composition, arranging, or editing of digital sound is one of the most recent additions available to musicians at Dordt College.

Learn More

Check out our program strengths and get to know our facilities.

Dr. John MacInnis

Dr. John MacInnis
Associate Professor of Music
Department Chair

MB 28
(712) 722-6202
John.MacInnis@dordt.edu

Ryan Smit

Ryan Smit
Instructor of Music

MB 113
(712) 722-6203
rmsmit@dordt.edu

Dr. Karen De Mol

Dr. Karen De Mol
Assistant Adjunct - Music Department

MB 25
(712) 722-6205
Karen.DeMol@dordt.edu

Dr. Daniel Baldwin

Dr. Daniel Baldwin
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Daniel.Baldwin@dordt.edu

Andrea Carlson

Andrea Carlson
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Andrea.Carlson@dordt.edu

John Casey

John Casey
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
John.Casey@dordt.edu

Marian Casey

Marian Casey
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Marian.Casey@dordt.edu

Pam De Haan

Pam De Haan
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 30
(712) 722-6206
Pam.DeHaan@dordt.edu

Jennifer Frens

Jennifer Frens
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Jennifer.Frens@dordt.edu

Matthew Geerlings

Matthew Geerlings
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Matthew.Geerlings@dordt.edu

Dr. Beverly Gibson

Dr. Beverly Gibson
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Beverly.Gibson@dordt.edu

Geoff Gunderson

Geoff Gunderson
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Geoff.Gunderson@dordt.edu

Christopher Haak

Christopher Haak
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Christopher.Haak@dordt.edu

Stephanie Kocher

Stephanie Kocher
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Stephanie.Kocher@dordt.edu

Kevin Linder

Kevin Linder
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
Kevin.Linder@dordt.edu

Lisa Miedema

Lisa Miedema
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
Lisa.Miedema@dordt.edu

Vance Shoemaker

Vance Shoemaker
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

(712) 722-6222
vshoemaker@dordt.edu

Deb Vogel

Deb Vogel
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 30
(712) 722-6206
Deb.Vogel@dordt.edu

Anna Vorhes

Anna Vorhes
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 21
(712) 722-6222
Anna.Vorhes@dordt.edu

MaryLou Wielenga

MaryLou Wielenga
Assistant Adjunct - Music Department

MB 27
(712) 722-6213
MaryLou.Wielenga@dordt.edu

Carol Flower

Carol Flower
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

MB 27
(712) 722-6213
Carol.Flower@dordt.edu

Spencer Jones

Spencer Jones
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Spencer.Jones@dordt.edu

Karin Swanson

Karin Swanson
Tutorial Adjunct - Music Department

Karin.Swanson@dordt.edu