Academic Calendar

2017-18 2018-19 (Tentative) Day Activity
Aug 23-25 Aug 22-24 Wednesday-Friday International/ESL student orientation
Aug 26-28 Aug 25-27 Saturday-Monday Freshman orientation
Aug 28 Aug 27 Monday Transfer/returning student orientation
Aug 29 Aug 28 Tuesday Classes begin–8 a.m.
Sept 1 Aug 31 Friday Convocation–11 a.m.
Oct 5, 6 Oct 4, 5 Thursday-Friday Reading Days–Heartland Teachers' Conference, no classes
Oct 20 Oct 19 Friday End of first set of half-courses
Oct 23 Oct 22 Monday Beginning of second set of half-courses
Nov 2-13 Nov 1-12   Registration for spring semester
Nov 22 Nov 21 Wednesday Thanksgiving recess–8 a.m.
Nov 28 Nov 27 Tuesday Classes resume–8 a.m.
Dec 15 Dec 14 Friday Review day
Dec 18-21 Dec 17-20 Monday-Thursday Testing
Jan 15 Jan 14 Monday New and transfer/returning student orientation
Jan 16 Jan 15 Tuesday Spring semester begins–8 a.m.
Feb 16 Feb 15 Friday Reading day
Mar 5 Mar 4 Monday End of first set of half-courses
Mar 6 Mar 5 Tuesday Beginning of second set of half-courses
Mar 9 Mar 8 Friday Spring vacation–5 p.m. [all Friday class periods meet]
Mar 20 Mar 19 Tuesday Classes resume–8 a.m.
Apr 5-17 Apr 4-16   Registration for fall semester
Apr 26 Apr 25 Thursday Assessment day/Ideafest
May 7 May 6 Monday Review day–a.m.
May 7 May 6 Monday Testing–p.m.
May 8-10 May 7-9 Tuesday-Thursday Testing–a.m. and p.m.
May 11 May 10 Friday Commencement–10 a.m.