Academic Calendar

2019-20 2020-21 (Tentative) Day Activity
Aug 21-23 Aug 19-21 Wednesday-Friday International/ESL student orientation
Aug 24-26 Aug 22-24 Saturday-Monday Freshman orientation
Aug 26 Aug 24 Monday Transfer/returning student orientation
Aug 27 Aug 25 Tuesday Classes begin–8 a.m.
Aug 30 Aug 28 Friday Convocation–11 a.m.
Oct 3, 4 Oct 1, 2 Thursday, Friday Reading Days–Heartland Teachers' Conference, no classes
Oct 18 Oct 16 Friday End of first set of half-courses
Oct 21 Oct 19 Monday Beginning of second set of half-courses
Nov 27 Nov 25 Wednesday Thanksgiving recess–8 a.m.
Dec 3 Dec 1 Tuesday Classes resume–8 a.m.
Dec 12-13 Dec 10-11 Thursday-Friday Testing
Dec 16-17 Dec 14-15 Monday-Tuesday Testing
 
Jan 8 Jan 6 Wednesday New and transfer/returning student orientation
Jan 9 Jan 7 Thursday Spring semester begins–8 a.m.
Feb 27 Feb 25 Thursday End of the first set of half-courses
Feb 28 Feb 26   Beginning of second set of half-courses
Mar 6 Mar 5 Friday Spring vacation–8:00 a.m.
Mar 17 Mar 16 Tuesday Classes resume–8:00 a.m.
April 10 April 2 Friday Easter Recess Begins–8:00 a.m.
April 14 April 6 Tuesday Classes resume–8:00 a.m.
April 30 April 29 Thursday Assessment day/Ideafest
May 4-7 May 3-6 Monday-Thursday Testing
May 8 May 7 Friday Commencement–10 a.m.