Dordt College News

Three Dordt Women Earn GPAC Honors

March 5, 2014

(Wednesday, March 5; Sioux Center, Iowa)  Three Dordt College women’s basketball players earned honors from the Great Plains Athletic Conference in balloting done by the conference coaches at the conclusion of the 2014 season.

Kara Van Dyke (Senior; Leota, Minnesota) was named to the second team after averaging 13.5 points and 7.3 rebounds per game this season and handed out 40 assists, 23 blocks and 34 steals and was the only Defender to start all 29 games played for the Defenders.  Van Dyke was a first team selection in 2013 and a second team pick in 2012.  Van Dyke leaves Dordt with 1,298 career points which ranks fifth all-time and she grabbed 784 rebounds which ranks fourth for the Defenders. 

Jaimie Kok (Senior; Randolph, Wisconsin) earned honorable mention honors after averaging 10.5 points per game with 6.0 rebounds during an injury plagued season.  Kok had 58 assists and 27 steals in 23 games played.  Kok also earned honorable mention honors in 2012.  Kok leaves Dordt with 850 career points and 428 rebounds.  Her points scored total ranks 21st all-time.

Kayla Broekhuis (Senior; Edgerton, Minnesota) earned honorable mention honors for the third straight season.  The guard averaged 10.7 points per game and 3.7 rebounds per contest and converted 46.8 percent of her three-point shots.  Broekhuis also earned all-GPAC honors in volleyball and appeared in 19 games for the Defenders. 

Dordt was 13-16 overall this season and 6-14 in the GPAC.

GPAC Honor Teams

All-time GPAC Women’s Basketball Award Winners

Player of the Year
2001 Rachel Binneboese (Northwestern)
2002 Randi Morgan (Dakota Wesleyan)
2003 Elizabeth Herbek (Hastings)
2004 Brittany Carper (Morningside)
2005 Megan Cloud (Morningside)
2006 Lynnze Martinsen (Hastings)
2007 Deb Remmerde (Northwestern)
2008 Deb Remmerde (Northwestern)
2009 Dani Gass (Morningside)
2010 Liz Grider (Briar Cliff)
2011 Becca Hurley (Northwestern)
2012 Kendra De Jong (Northwestern)
2013 Kendra De Jong (Northwestern)
2014 Bailey Morris (Concordia)

Defensive Player of the Year
2001 Emily Stucky (Hastings)
2002 Carrie Hofstetter (Hastings)
2003 Victoria Drefs (Dakota Wesleyan)
2004 Victoria Drefs (Dakota Wesleyan), Carrie Hofstetter (Hastings)
2005 Kari Saving (Concordia)
2006 Tevan Wenbourne (Mount Marty)
2007 Tevan Wenbourne (Mount Marty)
2008 Tevan Wenbourne (Mount Marty)
2009 Autumn Bartel (Morningside)
2010 Kim Faimon (Hastings)
2011 Amber Soodsma (Dordt), Kendra De Jong (Northwestern)
2012 Katie Rich (Concordia)
2013 Katie Rich (Concordia)
2014 Tracy Peitz (Concordia)

Freshman of the Year
2001 Randi Morgan (Dakota Wesleyan)
2002 Courtney Farrell (Sioux Falls)
2003 Trisha Perzelka (Midland)
2004 Stacy Svoboda (Hastings)
2005 Deb Remmerde (Northwestern)
2006 Dani Gass (Morningside)
2007 JJ Hall (Morningside), Michelle Amundson (Mount Marty)
2008 Amber Soodsma (Dordt)
2009 Jamey Hofer (Sioux Falls)
2010 Kendra De Jong (Northwestern)
2011 Laura Johnson (Sioux Falls)
2012 Mattie Murren (Briar Cliff)
2013 Jess Tietz (Morningside)
2014 Lexi Ackerman (Morningside)

Coach of the Year
2001 Earl Woudstra (Northwestern)
2002 Kevin Lein (Dakota Wesleyan)
2003 Todd Voss (Concordia)
2004 Tony Hobson (Hastings)
2005 Tracee Fairbanks (Doane)
2006 Tony Hobson (Hastings)
2007 Chuck Iverson (Mount Marty)
2008 Jamie Sale (Morningside)
2009 Jamie Sale (Morningside)
2010 Jeff Dittman (Hastings)
2011 Earl Woudstra (Northwestern)
2012 Drew Olson (Concordia)
2013 Jamie Sale (Morningside)
2014  Carrie Hofstetter

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1