Health and Human Performance

Health and HUman Performance at Dordt

Be challenged. Be changed.

 

Do you want to learn about the human body and how it can perform most efficiently, healthily, and powerfully? Dordt’s Health and Human Performance (HHP) degree will give you the hands-on learning experience you need for a career in fitness, physical training, sales, coaching, and more. We offer a general emphasis, exercise science emphasis, and a teaching endorsement for elementary or secondary physical education.

You can craft your program experience to fit your career goals. Work as a student trainer for the athletic teams on campus, serve in the intramural program, visit local school classrooms, or participate in the pre-physical therapy club.

Following your training in HHP, you can also move into our master of education in sport leadership program. We offer opportunities to be a graduate assistant for the athletic teams, and you’ll earn a master’s degree at the same time.

Program Options

Emphases

General: With the general emphasis, you will get a broad overview of how the human body works, exploring how physical, psychological, and sociological aspects interact.

Exercise Science: In this emphasis, you will focus on areas such as physical therapy, consumer health, and nutrition.

Other Opportunities in HHP

As a Health and Human Performance major, you can capitalize on our pre-physical therapy track, which helps prepare you for graduate school. Students can also go on to study in our Master of Education program to study Sport Leadership.

Dordt also has a pre-physical therapy club. The club adviser, Dr. Stiemsma, helps guide students as they look at applying to graduate schools. U.S. News & World Report shared advice from Dr. Stiemsma on some of his suggestions for students pursuing careers in physical therapy.

Learn More

Check out our program strengths and get to know our facilities, the Recreation Center and the All Seasons Center (ASC).

Chad Hanson

Chad Hanson
Men's and Women's Head Volleyball Coach

RC 127A
(712) 722-6320
Chad.Hanson@dordt.edu

Dr. Craig Heynen

Dr. Craig Heynen
Professor of HHP/Men and Women's Track & Field Coach

RC 127E
(712) 722-6235
craig.heynen@dordt.edu

Dr. Craig Stiemsma

Dr. Craig Stiemsma
Professor of Health and Human Performance
Department Chair

RC 127H
(712) 722-6309
craig.stiemsma@dordt.edu

Nate Wolf

Nate Wolf
Head Cross Country Coach/Assistant Track Coach

RC 110
(712) 722-6427
Nate.Wolf@dordt.edu

Charlotte Kooima

Charlotte Kooima
Health & Human Performance Assistant Adjunct

Charlotte.Kooima@dordt.edu

Ross Douma

Ross Douma
Director of Athletics

RC 127F
(712) 722-6234
Ross.Douma@dordt.edu

Aaron Mingo

Aaron Mingo
Assistant Head Football Coach

RC 134
(712) 722-6316
Aaron.Mingo@dordt.edu

Joel Penner

Joel Penner
Head Football Coach/Instructor

RC 136
(712) 722-6311
Joel.Penner@dordt.edu

Jeff Zomer

Jeff Zomer
Director of Recreation Center/Softball Coach

RC 123
(712) 722-6310
Jeff.Zomer@dordt.edu