Health and Human Performance

Do you want to learn about the human body and how it can perform most efficiently, healthily, and powerfully? Dordt’s health and human performance (HHP) degree will give you the hands-on learning experience you need for a career in fitness, physical training, sales, coaching, and more. We offer emphases in exercise science, health, recreation, elementary or secondary physical education, and general HHP.

With only 11 required classes, you can craft your program experience to fit your career goals. You can work as a student trainer for the athletic teams on campus, schedule and facilitate the intramural program, visit local school classrooms, or serve as an assistant coach for an athletic team.

Following your training in HHP, you can also move into our master of education in sport leadership program. We offer opportunities to be a graduate assistant for the athletic teams, and you’ll earn a master’s degree at the same time.

Program Options

Emphases include exercise science, health, recreation, elementary or secondary physical education, and the general HHP major.

Six core HHP courses plus five core courses required of all Dordt students give HHP majors a broad background shaped by a strong Christian worldview. You’ll choose from a variety of electives to fit your emphasis.

Some pre-physical therapy students choose to major in HHP.

We also offer a master of education program, allowing students to earn an advanced degree in sport leadership.

Opportunities

You’ll find many opportunities on campus to be involved in your field. Some students work as student trainers for the department and the athletic teams; others help teach HHP activity classes. Some coordinate the intramural program on campus or work in the recreation center. Many play on intramural teams, and students in one class go into elementary school classrooms to help. Majors serve as assistant coaches for athletic teams and find opportunities to coach in local schools. Our students also help Special Olympic athletes in soccer, basketball, and track.

Learn More

Check out our program strengths and get to know our facilities, the Recreation Center and the All Seasons Center (ASC).

Chad Hanson

Chad Hanson
Men's and Women's Head Volleyball Coach

RC 127A
(712) 722-6320
Chad.Hanson@dordt.edu

Dr. Craig Heynen

Dr. Craig Heynen
Professor of HHP/Men and Women's Track & Field Coach

RC 127E
(712) 722-6235
Craig.Heynen@dordt.edu

Dr. Jeff Schouten

Dr. Jeff Schouten
Professor of HHP/Men's Baseball Coach

RC 127G
(712) 722-6232
Jeff.Schouten@dordt.edu

Dr. Craig Stiemsma

Dr. Craig Stiemsma
Professor of HHP/Men's Head Soccer Coach
Department Chair

RC 127H
(712) 722-6309
craig.stiemsma@dordt.edu

Nate Wolf

Nate Wolf
Head Cross Country Coach/Assistant Track Coach

RC 110
(712) 722-6427
Nate.Wolf@dordt.edu

Charlotte Kooima

Charlotte Kooima
Health & Human Performance Assistant Adjunct

Charlotte.Kooima@dordt.edu

Ross Douma

Ross Douma
Director of Athletics

RC 127F
(712) 722-6234
Ross.Douma@dordt.edu

Aaron Mingo

Aaron Mingo
Assistant Head Football Coach

RC 134
(712) 722-6316
Aaron.Mingo@dordt.edu

Joel Penner

Joel Penner
Head Football Coach/Instructor

RC 136
(712) 722-6311
Joel.Penner@dordt.edu

Jeff Zomer

Jeff Zomer
Director of Recreation Center/Softball Coach

RC 123
(712) 722-6310
Jeff.Zomer@dordt.edu