Dordt College News

Dordt theater production held for regional competition

November 10, 2008


The Dordt College Theater Department has been notified their recent performance of “Urinetown” is being held in consideration for inclusion in the regional American College Theater Festival (ACTF) to be held January 18-23 in Lawrence, KS. In addition, a scene from the show, “The Cop Song,” has been nominated for the ACTF Invited Scene Showcase, a festival event featuring choice scenes from Region 5 productions.

Dordt’s fall stage production was directed by Dordt College Theater Arts instructor, April Hubbard, and presented at the Te Paske Theatre Oct. 16-25. The musical comedy with a message used humor to nudge audiences to think about creation care and respond when individual rights and privileges conflict with corporate pressure.

The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival is a nationwide program that annually sponsors regional theatre festivals. Region Five consists of colleges and universities in North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Iowa and Minnesota.

Students from participating colleges and universities attend the festival and participate in workshops and view invited productions. Each year a maximum of eight shows across the region are chosen to stage their performance at the festival.

Hubbard said that regardless of whether “Urinetown” is chosen, it is a great honor to be held, as it means the selector and respondent judging the show felt production values were high enough to be considered for invitation to the festival. “This is a tremendous compliment for our actors, designers, and technical support crews, as well as for Dordt College for supporting a theater department that has the capability of producing theater that can win this honor.”

Students performing in the show were (Iowa) Allie Thomas, Danielle Roos, and Jason Kornelis, Sioux Center; Kenny Gradert, Ireton; Kelsey Reitsma, George; Eric Meeter, Spencer; Andrew Voss, Aplington; Becky Lancaster, Cedar Rapids; Emily Greenfield, Kamrar; Emily Stam, Oskaloosa; Kendra Schiebout and Joel Schiebout, Pella; Clarissa Laverman, Sully; (Minnesota) Lee Radde and Leah Radde, Cologne; Grace Schmidt, Vadnais Heights; (South Dakota) Nick Engbers, Sioux Falls; (Nebraska) Thadd Harrington, Lincoln; (Michigan) Kaylee Engelsman, Hudsonville; Zack Eggebeen, Sheboygan; (Wisconsin) Jonathan Posthuma, Brandon; Nick Van Ee, Fox Lake; (Illinois) Laura MacMillan, Elmhurst; (Missouri) Jon Trueblood, St. Louis; (Colorado) Emily Hageman, Highlands Ranch; Matt Wiersma, Fort Collins; (Arizona) Matt Turner, Mesa; Mark Bylenga, Tucson; (Montana) Josh Wynia, Manhattan; (Canada) Jenna Veenbaas, Abbotsford, BC; Michaela Groot, Houston, BC; and Rachel Van Essen, Mitchell, ON.

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1