Women's Cross Country, Briar Cliff Invite

You'll have a better experience on this website using a secure, up-to-date browser. Click here for information and instructions about updating.

3rd of 15

Briar Cliff Invite

10:00 AM - Saturday, October 10, 2015
Adams Homestead and Nature Preserve, McCook Lake, South Dakota
Non-conference Match



The Dordt College women  finished 3rd out of 15 teams at the Briar Cliff Invite hosted  at the Adams Nature Preserve near North Sioux City, South Dakota.  Kayla Byl was Dordt’s first runner across with a time of 17:36 which was good for fourth place at the meet.



Kayla Byl 4th/17:36

Justin Van Zee 14th/ 18:13

Erika Douma 18th/ 18:18

Kaylie Ogle 30th/ 18:37

Audrey Brooks 33rd/ 18:44

Kelsey Lewis 41st/ 18:52

Sarah Van Wyk 54th/ 19:17



-167 runners ran the 5,000 meter course.

-Byl’s time would have won the women’s race in three of the last four years.

-Dordt’s 1-5 split was 1:08.

-Dordt’s 94 points was a solid third, 34 points behind NAIA Division II top-10 ranked Augustana (South Dakota) and was ahead of Doane’s 131 for fourth place.

-Byl was the first NAIA runner across the finish line and Dordt was the only NAIA team with three runners in the top-18 overall.

-Creighton’s Lauren Ogg won the race in 17:10 and led the Blue Jays to the team title with 29 points.

-Dordt runs again in two weeks at the Mount Marty Invite in Yankton on October 24 in the final “regular” season meet with the GPAC Finals run two weeks later.



“Our women ran a very strong race today.  Kayla Byl once again led the women’s team finishing fourth behind  NCAA division I and II runners.  In addition to Kayla, Justine Van Zee and Erika Douma also finished in the top-20.  Our top five were only separated by 68 seconds, which is our closest 1-5 spread of the season.  Overall, most of the women’s team ran either the best race of their season or of their Dordt College career.  This race will be a good momentum builder as we head to our next meet at Mount Marty in two weeks,” said Dordt College coach Nate Wolf.