Dordt College News

Five Dordt Men Honored

March 5, 2014

(Wednesday, March 5; Sioux Center, Iowa) The Dordt College Defender men’s basketball program swept the Hauff Mid-America Sports/Great Plains Athletic Conference post-season honors announced Wednesday, March 5.

Kyle Lindbergh (Senior; Margate, Florida) was named the Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year  and was accorded first-team all-GPAC honors in balloting done by the GPAC coaches at the conclusion of the regular season.  Lindbergh averaged 17.1 points and 10.8 rebounds per game and led the team in blocked shots and steals with 48 and 39 respectively.  Lindbegh also dished out 98 assists while converting 51.9 percent of his field goal attempts.  Lindbergh was the Defensive Player of the Year in 2012 while earning second-team all-GPAC honors and he was an honorable mention pick in 2013.  Lindbergh is the first Dordt College player to be named the Great Plains Athletic Conference Player of the Year honors.

Austin Katje (Senior; Orange City, Iowa) was a first-team pick for the first time in his career after earning all-GPAC honorable mention in 2011, 2012 and 2013.  Katje averaged 13.8 points per game and 4.2          rebounds per contest and made 43.6 percent of his three-point shots.  Katje will leave Dordt College as the all-time three-point shots leader for the Defenders and has 253 made three-pointers heading to the NAIA National Championship Tournament.

Claiming Freshman of the Year honors was Dalton Franken (Freshman; Atlantic, Iowa) and he was a second team all-GPAC selection.  Franken scored 15.6 points per game this season and grabbed 4.4 rebounds per contest while converting 47.8 percent of his field goals.  Franken is the third Dordt College player to earn Freshman of the Year honors in the 14 year history of the league.

Also on the second team is Nathan Rindels (Sophomore; Boulder, Colorado).  Rindels scored 12.7 points per game this season while latching on to 5.2 rebounds per game and he led the team with 115 assists and he also had 28 steals. 

Tyler Wolterstorff (Junior; Sioux Center, Iowa)  was accorded all-GPAC honorable mention honors after starting 32 games and he averaged 12.2  points and 4.2 rebounds per game and had 21 steals.

Ross Douma was named the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Coach of the Year after coaching the tem to its second ever GPAC regular season title and its fourth straight berth in the GPAC Post-Season Tournament championship.  Douma completes his fifth season at Dordt and has a 125-39 coaching record.  Douma was also named the Coach of the Year in 2012 and is the third coach in GPAC history to win the award multiple times.

GPAC Honor Teams

Player of the Year
2001 Adam Baker (Midland)
2002 Brandon Jacobsen (Northwestern)
2003 Brandon Woudstra (Northwestern)
2004 Rick Dietze (Concordia)
2005 Corey Winterfeld (Northwestern)
2006 Chad Schuiteman (Northwestern)
2007 Brock Seim (Dakota Wesleyan)
2008 Preston Broughton (Dakota Wesleyan)
2009 Kale Wiertzema (Northwestern)
2010 Darrin Dorsey (Dakota Wesleyan)
2011 Brady Wiebe (Dakota Wesleyan)
2012 Jake Shipley (Briar Cliff)
2013 Ben Miller (Northwestern)
2014 Kyle Lindbergh (Dordt)

Defensive Player of the Year
2001  Brad Kennett (Sioux Falls)
2002 Lance Reinke (Northwestern)
2003 Kyle Rohrig (Nebraska Wesleyan)
2004 Jason Jisa (Concordia)
2005 Jason Jisa (Concordia)
2006 Mark Esser (Dana)
2007 Jon Ziegler (Concordia)
2008 Jack Rother (Morningside)
2009 Jeremiah Slough (Hastings)
2010 Jeremiah Slough (Hastings)  Darrin Dorsey (Dakota Wesleyan)
2011 Ryan Hoogeveen (Northwestern)
2012 Kyle Lindbergh (Dordt)
2013 Trent Miller (Morningside)
2014 Kyle Lindbergh (Dordt)

Freshman of the Year
2002 David Nour (Dakota Wesleyan)
2003 Justin Bonnichsen (Mount Marty)
2004 Mike Stoynev (Doane)
2005  Chad Schuiteman (Northwestern)
2006 Scott Van Zanten (Dordt)
2007 Logan Kingma (Dordt)
2008 Matt Malloy (Sioux Falls)
2009 Skyler Bloch (Sioux Falls)
2010 Daniel Van Kalsbeek (Northwestern)
2011 Nick Reed (Doane)
2012 Jalen Voss (Dakota Wesleyan), Joel Haywood (Concordia)
2013 Connor Beranek (Doane)
2014 Dalton Franken (Dordt)

Coach of the Year
2001 Doug Martin (Dakota Wesleyan)
2002 Kris Korver (Northwestern)
2003 Kris Korver (Northwestern)
2004 Jim Sykes (Morningside)
2005 Kris Korver (Northwestern)
2006 Shane Murphy (Sioux Falls)
2007 John Hemenway (Dakota Wesleyan)
2008 Jim Sykes (Morningside)
2009 Todd Barry (Briar Cliff)
2010 Lance Creech (Hastings)
2011 Chris Johnson (Sioux Falls)
2012 Ross Douma (Dordt)
2013 Kris Korver (Northwestern)
2014 Ross Douma (Dordt)

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1