Dordt College News

Volleyball Scholar Honors Announced

November 30, 2012

(Friday, November 30; Sioux Center, Iowa)  Seven Dordt College volleyball players were named NAIA Scholar-Athletes for the recently completed 2012 season.

The Defenders had three repeat performers on the honor list with Jana Van Zanten (Senior; Pella, Iowa), Loy Sahr (Senior; Sutton, Nebraska) and Danae Geels (Senior; Sheldon, Iowa) making the up the trio of repeat honorees.

Claiming the honor for the first time were Jocelyn Bousema (Junior; Sheldon, Iowa), Kayla Broekhuis (Junior; Edgerton, Minnesota), Lindsey Floen (Junior; Sioux Center, Iowa) and Bekah Posthuma (Junior; Pella, Iowa).  The four earned the honor in their first year of eligibility for the award.

Geels, Floen and Sahr add the scholar-athlete honor to all-GPAC honors already named this fall.

“It is an honor to coach such strong students in our program.  I know many of their professors around campus are impressed at the diligence they apply toward excellence in the classroom," said Dordt College coach Chad Hanson.  "What a privilege to have their academic leadership recognized through the NAIA Scholar-Athlete program."

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced 408 volleyball student-athletes have been named 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athletes.

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for this honor.

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1