Dordt College News

Distinguished Scholar recipients named

March 15, 2010

Dordt College has offered a special group of seniors “Distinguished Scholar Awards” and the accompanying scholarships for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt’s Office of Scholarships and Grants. The $11,000 scholarship is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.

Distinguished Scholar Award winners for the upcoming year include Lauren Bennier, Sergeant Bluff, IA; Emily De Boer, Beecher, IL; Andrew Deelstra, Seattle, WA; Samuel De Nooy, Sully, IA; Courtney Dykstra, Lake Worth, FL; Nathaniel Eckstrom, Stanton, NE; Andrea Fairbanks, Sioux City, IA; Matthew Gorter, Sioux Center, IA; Stephen Heimiller, Milwaukee, WI; Austin Herrema, Littleton, CO; Sarah Kennedy, Hoyt, KS; Joshua Olson, Amery, WI; Justin Ooms, Lansing, IL; Dirk Oudman, Wheatfield, IN; Rebeka Sipma, Manteca, CA; and Jared Van Dyke, Hudsonville, MI. Alternates have been chosen in the event some awards are not accepted.

This year 68 applicants met eligibility standards for the Distinguished Scholars scholarship, which requires a cumulative high school G.P.A. of 3.75 or above; a minimum ACT score of 30 or SAT score of 1320. Applicants participated in Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February, which included writing an essay.

Dordt College offers a top quality, faith based, and affordable education. In the 2010 U.S. News & World Report rankings, Dordt College ranked fourth among Midwest Baccalaureate Colleges. It was also ranked eighth on the “Great Schools, Great Prices” list, which compares tuition price with the quality of the program. Dordt offers over 90 programs of study to a student body of over 1,300, who represent 30 states and 19 countries.

Media Access: Download Word Version