About Me

Susan Miranda

Susan Miranda
Assistant Adjunct - Music Department

Email: Susan.Miranda@dordt.edu

Susan Miranda, oboist, entrepreneur and founder of Chione Quintet and mothrmöv, has a performance resumé which includes various countries across Europe as well as Sioux City Symphony, Huron Symphony Orchestra, Minnesota Philharmonic Orchestra, Bloomington Symphony Orchestra, and Northwest Iowa Symphony Orchestra.  Susan’s strengths are many, including business owner, writer, and founder of numerous ensembles and businesses.

As an entrepreneur and new music pioneer, Susan has worked to create new, interesting and relevant chamber music opportunities for herself and her colleagues.  Chione Quintet performed live on Classical Minnesota Public Radio within it’s first seven months as an ensemble and most recently represented Classical MPR through their school residency program Class Notes.  Revolutionary trio, mothrmöv, explores and embraces the relationship between music and movement. morthrmöv premiered Ben Osterhouse’s Fancy Mouse at a Schubert Club Courtroom Concert in March of 2019.  

Susan is the Oboe Professor at Dordt University and Northwestern College in Sioux Center, IA. She is a sought out oboe teacher in the Twin Cities as her Chromatic Fusion Oboe Studio boasts students who have attended honor bands throughout Minnesota, Wisconsin and Iowa including the prestigious University of Minnesota Honor Band.  Additionally, her students have had the honor of being accepted into the MN All-State Honor Bands and Orchestra. As a clinician and coach, Susan is on faculty at Athena Music and Leadership Camp, ISD 622’s Beginning Band Camp and has coached the MN All-State Concert Band oboe students for the last three years.

Susan had the opportunity to attend Interlochen Arts Academy as a high school senior, where she studied with Daniel Stolper.  She holds a Bachelors of Communications and Applied Music Degree from the University of Minnesota, where she studied with Basil Reeve.  Other principal instructors have included Andrea Banke, Caroline Park, Roger Roe and Jeffrey Paul.