Archived Voice Articles

Distinguished Scholar recipients named at Dordt College

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients have been announced for the 2004?2005 school year. Eight seniors from across the United States were selected for this honor and the accompanying scholarships. They are Jessica Assink, Walnut Creek, California; Jesse Aukeman, Byron Center, Michigan; Kimberly Deelstra, Shoreline, Washington; Cristy Gesink, Montrose, Colorado; Julie Ooms, Lansing, Illinois; Andy Schroedermeier, Sioux Falls, South. Dakota; Micah Schuurman, Winfield, Illinois; and Kimberly Spronk, Edgerton, Minnesota. Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by the Dordt College Office of Scholarships and Grants. Each $9,000 scholarship is awarded to an incoming first year applicant based on a his or her cumulative high school GPA, his or her score on ACT/SAT exams, and an essay written during Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February. This year 55 applicants met eligibility standards for the scholarship, which are a minimum 3.75 GPA and a score of 30 or higher on the ACT. The scholarship is renewable for an additional three consecutive years if recipients maintain good academic standing.