Archived Voice Articles

Purple Martin Writing Awards

Twenty Dordt College students were recognized for their writing ability in the annual Purple Martin Writing contest sponsored by the college's English department. Awards were presented on April 13.

The Purple Martin writing competition is held annually and is open to all Dordt students. Judges select winners from upperclass students in the categories of fiction, poetry, personal writing, analysis, persuasion/argument, and exposition. Freshman work is placed in a separate division.

Cash prizes were awarded for first and second place. Students who received first place, second place, or honorary mention were:

Analysis: Diana Hoogerhyde, Easton, Pennsylvania.; Melissa Drake, Griswold, Iowa; Josh Bower, Aberdeen, South Dakota. Freshman division: Nathan Terrell, Rock Valley, Iowa; Jon Bushnell, Kingsburg, California.

Persuasion: Brandon Karlsgodt, Atwater, Minnesota. Freshman division: Jamie Bleeker, Clear Lake, South Dakota; Jennifer Tomlinson, Stacy, Minnesota.

Exposition: Matt Bakker, Winnepeg, Manitoba; Dena Nicolai, Edmonton, Alberta. Freshman division: Jason Elenbaas, Helena, Montana.

Personal Writing: Sharla Derksen, Brandon, Wisconsin; Melissa Drake, Griswold, Iowa; Kearsen Boman, Manhattan, Montana; Jason Bultje, Mason City, Iowa; Sara Prins, Lacombe, Alberta; Julie Perkins, Demotte, Indiana. Freshman division: Justin Edmonds, Hanford, California; Anna Hubers, De Motte, Indiana.

Poetry: Diana Hoogerhyde, Easton, Pennsylvania; Julie Perkins, Demotte, Indiana; Valerie Westra, Hull, Iowa.