Dordt College News

Iowa Appeals Court Comes to Dordt

October 5, 2001

Sioux Center/Des Moines—The Iowa Court of Appeals will hold court in Sioux Center on the campus of Dordt College on Tuesday, October 23. Appellate arguments will be heard in room S101 of the Science and Technology Center. The sessions are scheduled to begin at 10:00 and 1:30. The hearings are open to the public and the Court encourages people to attend.

The Iowa Court of Appeals is composed of nine judges:

Rosemary Shaw Sackett, Chief Judge; Okoboji
Terry L. Huitink; Ireton
Gayle Nelson Vogel; Knoxville
Robert E. Mahan; Ames
Van D. Zimmer; Vinton
John C. Miller; Burlington
Daryl L. Hecht; Sioux City
Anuradha Vaitheswaran; Des Moines
Larry Eisenhauer; Ankeny

Typically, a panel of three judges hears a case. The court divides into panels in order to manage its heavy caseload. The panel for the cases to be heard in Sioux Center is Chief Judge Sackett and Associate Judges Huitink and Hecht.

Huitink says the appellate process will “help people develop a perspective on how courts operate versus the courts they see on television.” He says there are no jury members at these proceedings. Appeals cases are a multi-judge review of a single judge’s decision.

The court meets one week a month from September through June. Although the court generally hears cases in Des Moines at the State Capitol, on occasion it sits in other cities to enable more of the public to watch appellate arguments. In the past two years, the court has visited Pella, Ames, Cedar Falls, Council Bluffs, Burlington, Orange City, Clinton, Carroll, Okoboji and Decorah.

For more information about the Iowa Court of Appeals and the Iowa court system, visit the Iowa Judicial Branch web site at

Media Access: Download Word Version