Dordt College News

Pool Assignments Public For NAIA Volleyball

November 25, 2013

(Monday, November 25; Sioux Center, Iowa)  The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has released the pool assignments and schedule for the 2013 NAIA Volleyball National Championship final site. The 12 champions from Saturday’s National Championship Opening Round join the 11 teams with byes and host school Briar Cliff (Iowa) to form the 24-team field. The National Championship final site will be contested for the sixth-straight year at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City, Iowa, from Dec. 3 - 7.

There are six pools with four teams in each pool and they all start action on Dec. 3. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the single-elimination bracket starting Dec. 6. The championship match will take place on Dec. 7 at 7 p.m. CST.

The Dordt College Defenders, ranked no. 15 in the Tachikara-NAIA Top 25 Coaches’ Poll, is grouped in Pool C with Biola (California), Lindsey Wilson (Kentucky) and Indiana Wesleyan. 
Dordt opens pool play against Lindsey Wilson on Tuesday, December 3 at 8:30 pm and follow that with 5:45 pm matches on Wednesday and Thursday, December 4 and 5 against Biola and Indiana Wesleyan respectively.

Defending national champion Concordia (Calif.), along with Biola (Calif.), Briar Cliff, Columbia (Mo.), Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Madonna (Mich.), MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.), Midland (Neb.), Northwestern (Iowa), Oklahoma Baptist, Texas at Brownsville and Vanguard (Calif.) all earned Opening Round byes.

Opening Round champions from Saturday include: Dordt (Iowa), Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Georgetown (Ky.), Grand View (Iowa), Indiana Wesleyan, The Master's (Calif.), Park (Mo.), Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Spring Hill (Ala.), Trinity Christian (Ill.), Wayland Baptist (Texas) and Westmont (Calif.).
Midland, Park and Wayland Baptist are appearing in their first-ever National Championship.

The Golden State Athletic Conference, with Biola, Concordia, The Master's (Calif.), Vanguard and Westmont (Calif.), sends the most conference schools with five.

Top-ranked Texas at Brownsville heads to Sioux City as one of two undefeated teams at 31-0. The Ocelots are advancing to their sixth national championship with a 21-6 all-time playoff record. Madonna (Mich.) is the other team with an unblemished record at 38-0 and holds the most wins in the current 24-team field.

Defending national champion Concordia is back in the postseason with a 35-9 championship record. The Eagles are trying to become the sixth different team to win back-to-back titles.

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1