Dordt College News

Distinguished Scholar recipients named

March 10, 2009

Fifteen seniors from across the United States have been offered Distinguished Scholar Awards and the accompanying scholarships at Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa, for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt’s Office of Scholarships and Grants. The $11,000 scholarship is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.

Distinguished Scholar Award winners for the upcoming year include Jon Bierma and Ruth Mahaffy, Sioux Center, IA; Christopher Meyer, Creston, IA; Alexandra Pasker, Runnells, IA; Ryan Tholen, Tracy, MN; Caroline Eckstrom, Stanton, NE; Jason Schubauer, Valentine, NE; Merissa Harkema, Hudsonville, MI; Julia VanderMolen, Grandville, MI; Brittany Kooiker, Tinley Park, IL; Corey Van Dyk, Elmhurst, IL; Reo Weeks, Savannah, MO; Kayla Graves, Colorado Springs, CO; Elizabeth Young, Anaheim, CA; and Andrew Blok, Lynden, WA.

This year 70 applicants met eligibility standards for the Distinguished Scholars scholarship, which requires a cumulative high school G.P.A. of 3.75 or above; a minimum ACT score of 30 or SAT score of 1320. These applicants were invited to participate in Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February, which included writing an essay.

Media Access: Download Word Version