Dordt College News

Distinguished Scholar recipients named

February 28, 2008

Nine seniors from across the United States have been selected for Distinguished Scholar Awards and the accompanying scholarships at Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa, for the 2008-2009 academic year.

This year 70 applicants met eligibility standards for the $10,000 scholarship, which requires a cumulative high school G.P.A. of 3.75 or above; a minimum ACT score of 30 or SAT score of 1320; and completion of an essay, written during Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February.

Those chosen as Distinguished Scholars for the upcoming year include Michael Gorter, Sioux Center; Bill Sorensen, Cologne, MN; Loni Amundson, Grasston, MN; Josh Pearson, Grove City, MN, Dan Baas, Corsica, SD; Nate Vruwink, Hudsonville, MI; Nick Van Ee, Fox Lake, WI; Phillip Stewart, Bedford, TX; and Jason Friend, Zillah, WA. Alternates have been chosen in the event some awards are not accepted.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt's Office of Scholarships and Grants. The scholarship awarded to these students is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.


Media Access: Download Word Version