Dordt College News

Jazz band, orchestra concert Jan. 18

January 10, 2008

Chamber Orchestra

The Dordt College Jazz Band and Chamber Orchestra from Sioux Center, IA, will perform at the B.J. Haan Auditorium on Friday, Jan. 18, at 7:30 p.m.

This free concert concludes a Colorado music tour, with performances in churches at Denver, Estes Park, Fort Collins, and Loveland, as well as five high schools located in Colorado, Nebraska, and Iowa.

The 23-person chamber orchestra, directed by Dr. Henry Duitman, will present “Bach’s Harpsichord Concerto in D Minor,” featuring Dordt’s internationally acclaimed musician, Dr. Robert Horton, on the harpsichord. Other orchestra soloists include Ashley Kasper on the oboe; Heather Hooyer on the violin; Lee Radde on the tuba; and John Rutgers on the trombone.

Also on the program are the big band sounds of the college jazz band, directed by Dr. Robert Horton. This 16-person ensemble will turn up the beat with percussionist Jamin Hubner and the best of the brass.

Dordt College has more than 300 U.S. and international students who participate in the music program, with opportunities to perform in four choral groups, two orchestras, and three bands. Music scholarships are available to qualified students.

Chamber Orchestra: Andrew Sybesma, Hull, IA; Abigail Ahrenholz, Tiffany Schuller, Joseph Slegers, James Slegers, and Autumn Wielenga, Orange City, IA; Luke Kreykes, Sheldon, IA; Bethany Bierma, Samantha Feekes, Holly Hooyer, Heather Hooyer, and Joelle Van Gaalen, Sioux Center, IA; Kirbee Tagney, Kimball, MN; Laura Heckmann, Canton, SD; Ashley Kasper, Lansing, IL; Elizabeth Walters, Gardner, KS; Katherine Gorter, Holland, MI; Alice Yoo, Aurora, CO; Erica Vande Kamp, Lees Summit, MO; Jenna Vander Woude, Lynden, WA; Mallory McConnell, Brookfield, WI; and Amber Wiersma, Lacombe, AB.

Jazz Band: Kenyon Gradert, Ireton, IA; Steven Mangold, Linn Grove, IA; Jennifer Roetman, Rock Rapids, IA; Benjamin Christians, Sioux Center, IA; Timothy Van Voorst and Timothy Vande Griend, Sioux Center, IA; Jonathan Vroom, Crete, IL; Leah Radde, Cologne, MN; Jon Hjelle, Fergus Falls, MN; James McCall, Hastings, MN; Joel Pertzsch, Maplewood, MN; Brandon Wipf, Hitchcock, SD; and John Rutgers, Lynden, WA.

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1