Dordt College News

Dordt College hosts Great Plains Math League competition

March 15, 2007

Great Plains Math League Competition

A high school math competition was held at the Dordt College Science and Technology Center on Saturday, March 10. Schools participating in the competition were Bishop Garrigan, Sioux Center, South O-Brien, and Unity Christian high schools. Some schools and team members were unable to attend this year due to rescheduling from the previous weekend’s snowstorm.

Tied for first and second place overall were Bishop Garrigan and South O’Brien. The competition consisted of two individual events and two team events.

The Target round was an individual event that consisted of eight questions, each worth 10 points. There was a 10 minute time limit for each pair of two questions.

Winners of the Target Round are as follow: Freshmen: first place, Brittany Berte (Bishop Garrigan); tied for second place, Nicole Altena (Unity Christian) and Austin Van Wyhe (Unity Christian). Sophomores: tied for first place, Jesse Post (Unity Christian) and Myles Boone (Sioux Center Community); second place, Andrew VanBeek (South O’Brien). Juniors: tied for first place, Andrew Arbogast (Sioux Center Community) and Aaron Hofmeyer (South O’Brien); tied for third place, Dylan Freking, Melanie Myers and Kelly Rouse (all from Bishop Garrigan); Seniors: first place Tony Rouse (Bishop Garrigan); second place, Kiley Boone (Sioux Center Community); third place Kara DenHerder (Sioux Center Community).

The Sprint Round, also an individual event, consisted of 30 multiple-choice questions and a one-hour time limit. Winners of the Sprint are as follow: Freshmen: first place, Austin Van Wyhe (Unity Christian); second place, Brittany Berte (Bishop Garrigan); third place, Rebeccah Erdman (Bishop Garrigan). Sophomores: first place, Kelly Rouse (Bishop Garrigan); second place, Myles Boone (Sioux Center Community); third place, Jesse Post (Unity Christian). Juniors: first place, Andrew Arbogast (Sioux Center Community); second place, Dylan Freking (Bishop Garrigan); third place, Melanie Myers (Bishop Garrigan). Seniors: first place, Tony Rouse (Bishop Garrigan); second place, Kara DenHerder (Sioux Center Community); third place, Kiley Boone (Sioux Center Community).

The Team Round, a group event, was a 10-question test with a 20 minute time limit. Tied for first and second place in the Team Round were teams from Bishop Garrigan (Tony Rouse, Dylan Freking and Melanie Myers) and South O’Brien (Aaron Hofmeyer, Matt Cole and Andrew Van Beek).
The last event, the Relay Round, was also a group event. The students worked in groups of three, with each completing one part of a three-part question. The second part of the question was based on the answer to Part 1, and the third part was based on the answer to Part 2. The third and final person was the only person to turn in an answer.

Winners of the relay were the Sioux Center Community team of Kiley Boone, Kara DenHerder and Myles Boone. Placing second was the Unity Christian team of James Boer, Jese Post and Jeremy Van Dam. Tied for third in the relay were the Bisho Garrigan teams of Tony Rouse, Dylan Freking, Melanie Myers, Brittany Berte, Kelly Klein and Cassie Reising.

Each academic year, there are six Great Plains Math League competitions held in the Midwest, followed by a state meet. For more information, go to

Media Access: Download Word Version | High Resolution Image: 1