Dordt College News

Distinguished Scholars selected for '06-'07

March 6, 2006

Nine seniors from across the United States and Canada have been selected to receive a Distinguished Scholar Award at Dordt College for the 2006-2007 academic year. They are Kristen Brands, Sioux Falls, SD; Joel Bruxvoort, Pella, IA; Kristina De Graaf, Marshall, MN; Ben Dekker, Granger, WA; David Dick, McBain, MI; Rita Feikema, Edgerton, MN; Rachel Jelgerhuis, Bloomington, MN; Naomi Mahaffy, Edmonton, AB, Canada; and Joel Veldkamp, Cumming, IA.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt's Office of Scholarships and Grants. Each $9,000 scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman applicant based on a his or her cumulative high school G.P.A., his or her score on ACT/SAT exams and by means of an essay written during Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February.

This year 62 applicants met eligibility standards for this scholarship, which are a minimum 3.75 grade point average and a score of 30 or higher on the ACT. The scholarship awarded to these students is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.

Dordt College is a four-year, liberal arts institution ranked among the top ten Midwest Comprehensive Colleges by U.S. News and World Report. Dordt annually offers about $15 million in financial aid to 95 percent of the students who attend.

Media Access: Download Word Version