Dordt College News

Dordt invites Kuyper Scholars to program

April 13, 2005

Dordt College has invited 24 finalists to participate in the Kuyper Scholars Program (KSP), beginning this fall. Those who accept the invitation will receive a KSP scholarship and complete an 18-credit minor in interdisciplinary and theoretical studies and seminars.

Co-Directors Mary Dengler and Arnold Sikkema announce the recipients: Kathryn Buyck (Danvers, MN), Kimberly Deelstra (Shoreline, WA), Amanda De Jong (Goleta, CA), Kelsie De Nooy (Denver, CO), Connie DuMez (Brookfield, WI), Grant Dykstra (Highland, IN), Nicole Gassman (Ames, IA), Sara Hanenburg (Milaca, MN), Jessica Hanko (Albuquerque, NM), Ann Harman (Marthasville, MO), Tina Heilman (Orange City, IA), Melissa Kallevig (Kandiyohi, MN), Robert Kangas (Plymouth MN), Ashley Kasper (Lansing, IL), Annika Krygsman (Northbridge MA), Erin Magnuson (Wayne, NE), Claire McWilliams (Champaign, IL), Kyle Sanniec (Chandler, AZ), Kylie Schafer (Brooklyn Center, MN), Joshua Soodsma (Hudsonville, MI), Justin Vander Schaaf (Baraboo, WI), Geron Van Essen (Lebanon, OR), Janna Vermeer (Maurice, IA), and Katiegrace Youngsma (Douglas, MA).

The KSP is designed to develop studentsí scholarly gifts as well as a Kuyperian sense of scholarly work as a calling to a particular kind of service in Godís kingdom. To reach that understanding, students begin with course Rhetoric and Christian Scholarship. They then participate in and lead a number of interdisciplinary seminars, contract in their general education and majors courses to do interdisciplinary/theoretical projects, and design independent and group projects in (or outside) their major, which they present to the academic community. These projects will prepare them for leadership in the Christian and world community.

Media Access: Download Word Version