Dordt College News

Distinguished Scholar recipients named at Dordt College

March 10, 2005

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients have been selected at Dordt College for the 2005-2006 school year.

Nine seniors from across the United States were selected for this honor and the accompanying scholarships. They are Janelle Aupperlee, Lynden, WA; Elaine Hannink, Modesto, CA; Heather Hooyer, Sioux Center; Ashley Kasper, Lansing, IL; Annika Krygsmon, Northbridge, MA; Sarah Sikkema, Ridgetown, ON, Canada; Justin Vander Schaaf, Baraboo, WI; Julie Verwoerd, Bowmanville, ON, Canada; and Elizabeth Walters, Gardner, KS.

Distinguished Scholar Awards are the highest recognition of academic excellence offered by Dordt's Office of Scholarships and Grants. Each $9,000 scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman applicant based on a his or her cumulative high school G.P.A., his or her score on ACT/SAT exams and by means of an essay written during Distinguished Scholar Day activities conducted at Dordt College in February. This year 47 applicants met eligibility standards for this scholarship, which are a minimum 3.75 grade point average and a score of 30 or higher on the ACT.

The scholarship awarded to these students is renewable for an additional three consecutive years, based on continued good academic standing.

Dordt College is a four-year, liberal arts institution located in Sioux Center, Iowa. Dordt annually offers about $15 million in financial aid to 95 percent of the students who attend. Dordt offers students over 50 areas of study along with a graduate program in education.

Media Access: Download Word Version