Dordt College News

Dordt Theater group in the running for regional competition

May 13, 2004

The Dordt College Theater Department has been notified their performance of the “The Greeks: The Murders ” is being held in consideration for inclusion in the regional ACTF (American College Theater Festival) in St. Louis next January. In addition, the costume designer, Sue Blom, has been invited to bring costumes to the festival for the costume parade. The Greeks: The Murders

“The Greeks: The Murders” was directed by Dordt College Theater Arts instructor, April Hubbard, and presented at the New World Theater in Sioux Center April 15-24. This modern adaptation of three Greek tragedies features the stories of Hecuba, Agamemnon and Electra, adapted by John Barton and Kenneth Cavander.

Adjudicators attend each theater event at participating college campuses and hold plays in consideration until all performances have been presented and they are ready to select the best to perform at festival. This notification is issued in December. At regional competitions, judges may then choose to hold performances to advance to the (noncompetitive) national festival.

Last year, Dordt College was one of seven Midwest colleges (Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North and South Dakota) selected to perform at the regional festival in Denver with their fall show, “All My Sons.” The play was then held for national consideration, a first in Dordt College history.

Playing lead roles in “The Greeks: The Murders” were Laurel Alons, Sanborn (Hecuba); Ethan Koerner, Calhan, CO; (Agamemnon); Beth Knight, Guelph, Ontario, Canada (Electra) and Rachel Personaire, Escalon, CA (Clytemnestra). Also on the cast were Andrea De Jong and Rob Haan, Sioux Center, IA; Amber Steggarda, Orange City, IA; Joelle Sparks, Rock Valley, IA; Kevin Zonnenfeld, Sheldon IA; Seth Shannon, Pella, IA; Laurie Woogie, Forest City, IA; Josh Super, Iowa Falls, IA; Marcus Roscamp, Jasper, MN; Rebecca Postma, Clara City, MN; Matt Olson, Blooming Prairie, MN; Mary Bruins, Grand Rapids, MI; Chris Maust, Bay Port, MI; Shelly Hazeu and Joe Eggebeen, Sheboygan, WI; Laura Dykstra, South Holland, IL; Anna Kooi, Meridianville, AL; Amy Blok, Lynden, WA; Nathan Pasma, Ripon, Calif.; Kendra Triemstra, Bozeman, MT; and from Canada, Josh DeGroot, Langley, BC; Sara Gerritsma, St. Catharines, ON; Amanda Nyman, St. Albert, AB; Ann Andree, Wellandport, ON; and Jonathan Horlings, Bradford, ON.

Media Access: Download Word Version