Dordt College News

Purple Martin writing awards presented

April 20, 2004

Twenty Dordt College students were recognized for their writing ability in the annual Purple Martin Writing contest sponsored by the college's English department. Awards were presented on Tuesday, April 13.

The Purple Martin writing competition is held annually and is open to any Dordt student. Judges select winners from upperclassmen in the categories of fiction, poetry, personal writing, analysis, persuasion/argument, and exposition. Freshman work is placed in a separate division.

Cash prizes were awarded for first and second place. Students who received first place, second place or honorary mention were:

Analysis: Diana Hoogerhyde, Easton, Pa.; Melissa Drake, Griswold, Iowa; and Josh Bower, Aberdeen, S.D. Freshmen division: Nathan Terrell, Rock Valley, and Jon Bushnell, Kingsburg, Calif.

Persuasion: Brandon Karlsgodt, Atwater, Minn. Freshmen division: Jamie Bleeker, Clear Lake, S.D., and Jennifer Tomlinson, Stacy, Minn.

Exposition: Matt Bakker, Winnepeg, Manitoba; Dena Nicolai, Edmonton, Alberta. Freshmen division: Jason Elenbaas, Helena, Mont.

Personal Writing: Sharla Derksen, Brandon, Wisc.; Melissa Drake, Griswold, Iowa; Kearsen Boman, Manhattan, Mont.; Jason Bultje, Mason City, Iowa; Sara Prins, Lacombe, Alberta; Julie Perkins, Demotte, Ind. Freshmen division: Justin Edmonds, Hanford, Calif. and Anna Hubers, De Motte, Ind.

Poetry: Diana Hoogerhyde, Easton, Pa.; Julie Perkins, Demotte, Ind.; and Valerie Westra, Hull, Iowa.

Media Access: Download Word Version